Elf (2003)


It’s that time of year again. The Christmas movies will be broadcast on a 24 hour cycle. This year, I wanted to break the tradition of watching A Christmas Story. It’s A Wonderful Life be damned. I wanted to see another holiday movie. I was flipping the channels and I came upon, Elf on CBS. Success.

This movie is so much fun. I think this is his first big hit before the Iron Man juggernaut, a mere five years later.

If you don’t know about this movie, I will tell you. This movie is about Buddy (Will Ferrell), a human that is raised as an elf in the North Pole by Papa Elf (Bob Newhart). Papa Elf tells Buddy that he is not an elf and he was adopted. He tells Buddy who his real father is Walter (James Caan). He travels to New York City to find him.

It was a fun ride from beginning to end. It’s not the best movie ever. It was holiday fluff. You have to suspend belief a lot in this movie. I laughed my head off.

My rating: *** stars.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on December 22, 2008, in 2003, Comedy, Family, Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment