The Shawshank Redemption (1994)

Let me to tell you something, my friend. Hope is a dangerous thing. Hope could drive a man insane.

— Red

I was not expecting to see The Shawshank Redemption last night. It was a pleasant surprise. I was flipping through the channels and it was starting on Encore. I thought, “What the hell?” Don’t hate me, but I haven’t seen the film from start to finish. I caught bits of the film in the past couple of years since it was released in 1994 on basic cable.

I thought that this is masterful storytelling by writer/director Frank Darabont. Based on the novella, Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption by Stephen King. It so weird. My favorite movies of all time were based on Stephen King’s material.

This was a vastly under appreciated movie that lost to that certain emotionally manipulative Tom Hanks vehicle that year at the Oscars. It was nominated for seven Oscars and didn’t win a single one. It is a crime.

It tells a compelling story about friendship developing between two inmates in Shawshank Prison, Andy Dufrense (Tim Robbins) and Red (Morgan Freeman). It dealt with the struggles from day to day in order to survive. Dealing with a corrupt staff that includes the Warden (Bob Gunton) and the Captain (Clancy Brown). It also deals with innocence and what is gained from seeking justice.

It is a wonderful film that is number one on the IMDB Top #250 list for a reason. It goes to show you that the Academy doesn’t know shit about awarding deserving movie, instead of atypical Oscar-grabby movies.

Judgment: If you haven’t seen this movie, you should be ashamed. Watch it immediately.

Rating: *****

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on February 28, 2009, in 1994, Academy Award Nominee, Drama, Top 250 of All Time in IMDB and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment