My Top Ten Favorite Films of 2010

I know that this is late, but I tried to get all the movies that were nominated, but to no avail. My list will not have “The Kids Are All Right”, “Winter’s Bone,””Blue Valentine” or “Biutiful”. This year was lackluster to say the least and I haven’t seen that many movies this year as I have in the past. It might change in the future. Here are my top ten favorite films of 2010.

10. Shutter Island – Even though this movie came out in the middle of February, I thought that it was a great change of pace from the Film Dump Months. It was shame that the movie was taken out of Oscar consideration for 2009. The movie was a tight adaptation of Dennis Lehane’s novel that boasts some great performances from Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Ruffalo and Ben Kingsley. The way that the movie was edited made you want to do a double take.

9. The King’s Speech – I think that buzz surrounding this movie has made it prime for backlash. The unlikely friendship between the future king of England and a speech therapist would not be moving, but it was. I thought that it was a gorgeous movie to look at. The performances were solid, but I have to single out Geoffrey Rush as Lionel. I was happy that this unsung hero of British society has been honored in such a great way.

8. True Grit – The Coen Brothers have done the unthinkable. They made a remake that didn’t suck donkey balls. Halleloo! This gritty look at revenge in the Old West made me want to live during that time. Jeff Bridges as Rooster Cogburn chewed the scene as a wad of tobacco. The true star of this movie is Hailee Steinfeld as the vengeful teenager searching the varmit that killed her father. It would be a nice companion piece with No Country for Old Men.

7. Greenberg – This little movie shows that Ben Stiller can do a lot more than being the straight man in Meet the Parents or a dumb, clueless model in Zoolander. Ben showed that a bipolar loner could be somewhat likable. The lead character of Greenberg made me feel like I was looking the mirror. Sometimes you don’t like what is looking back at you.

6.  Black Swan – I was glad that Darren Aronofsky is getting much needed love from the Academy for his latest effort. This movie coined a new term of the “psychosexual thriller”. A truly groundbreaking movie would trigger a response like that. The decent of a ballerina’s psyche into madness is really compelling to watch.

5. The Fighter – This movie was more than just another boxing movie. It shows that the fighter needs his loved ones to stay in the fight. It was great to see Christian Bale getting all the awards for his portrayal of Dickey Ecklund. It was a tour de force.

4. Exit Though the Gift Shop – I know that this movie is the subject of controversy with the legitimacy of the subject matter. Are Banksy and Mr. Brainwash the same person? Is Theirry Guerra a real person? I mainly focused on the street art portions of the movie than anything else.

3. Toy Story 3 – After I was disappointed with the last offerings from Pixar, I was so glad that they have come back in a big way with the last chapter of the Toy Story franchise. It has been eleven years since the last movie and I felt like a little kid again watching my favorite ride off to the sunset. I never thought that a bunch of toys coming to life would me go on the verge of tears when they were in peril. Thank you, Pixar.

2. The Social Network – Who would have thought that a movie about the genesis of Facebook would be so fascinating? The dynamic duo of director, David Fincher and screenwriter, Aaron Sorkin together makes magic on-screen. This movie is part coming-of-age, part courtroom drama. All great to watch. This movie almost made me want to delete my Facebook account. That says a lot.

1. 127 Hours – I was so glad that I saw this movie. After I was disappointed with Slumdog Millionaire that nabbed Danny Boyle a Best Director Oscar, I think that this movie is the best of Boyle’s career. Having one person saying almost no dialogue at all should be marveled. It was heart wrenching story about being human. Being able to survive be any means necessary. It was almost physically sick when I came out of theater. It was showed the deep immersion that I was placed in.

Those were my favorite films of 2010. I hope that 2011 would be a helluva lot better, because I don’t want to be scraping the bottom of the barrel again. Until next year…

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on February 25, 2011, in 2010 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I really enjoyed TRUE GRIT, but found it didn’t offer much more on second viewing. Still, a really solid Western, and like you said, definitely one of the better remakes.

    I also wasn’t a huge fan of THE FIGHTER. I guess I disagree with your assessment that it was more than “just another boxing movie”

    I especially love the inclusion of SHUTTER ISLAND, which didn’t get nearly enough love this year, EXIT THROUGH THE GIFTSHOP, which was just a brilliantly different documentary, and THE SOCIAL NETWORK, which is flat out my favourite movie of 2010

    Finally, I haven’t yet had the chance to see GREENBERG, but after seeing it appear on so many Top 10 lists, hopefully I’ll get to it soon

  2. I was disappointed with the crop of movies this year. I had to give pass to some movies that I wouldn’t include in this list in previous years.

    You should see Greenberg. I know that Steve from The Film Cynics hated it, but it showed a different side of Ben Stiller. I commend him for that.

Leave a Reply

