I’m watching "Ebert Presents At the Movies" right now and they’re discussing the 5 movies that made them critics. What are the 5 that made you a critic or a film lover?

The five films that made me a film lover: the first is "Stand by Me", because I love a coming of age story with foolmouthed kids. Second is "The Shawshank Redemption", because it is the perfect movie. I dare you to find a flaw in it. I double dog dare you. Next are "Shakespeare in Love" and "Saving Private Ryan" because I was theater nerd in high school and they made me want to watch my first Oscars ever. Last but not least is "Brokeback Mountain", I recently reviewed and I shared my expierence of watching the movie when it was in limited release. Having that shared expierence made me love the cinema.

Ask me anything

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on February 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. For me, it’d be Memento (the film that made me realize I was in love with films), The Matrix (the first film I ever “studied”, in a high school religion class), The Dark Knight (the first film I ever followed online, watching the buzz and paying attention to casting, etc) Burn After Reading (the first film I ever reviewed, for a high school newsletter) and The Social Network (the film that inspired me to pick up blogging again after letting it fall by the wayside this year.

  2. Like Tom The Dark Knight introduced me to the online film community. The other four would be The Godfather, The Fountain, Up (my first review), and Funny Games (the first movie I hated so much I had to write about it).

  3. funny, I watched the same program and did a post about the same thing. we actually ended up with 2 of the same movies on our lists! ha, great minds think alike, eh? Nice post!

Leave a Reply

