Seven Movie Facts

I know that this meme is a little late, but I had a good reason. Vanessa at The Movie Ness tagged me indirectly. I thought I would jump on the bandwagon before I miss it.

1. What was your first movie-going experience?

My first movie-going experience? I don’t really know. I believe that the first movie I ever saw was a re-lease of Bambi at the movie theater when I was seven. When Bambi’s mother died, I was hysterically crying afterwards. Inconsolable.

2. How many DVDs do you own?

This is shocking for some people, but I only have two DVDs in my collection. I know. I know. Let me explain. A couple of years ago, I had almost 100 DVDs in my collection. There were some that I watched multiple times and others I didn’t even open the shrink-wrap. I was in dire straits at the time and I had to sell almost my entire collection to pay for food to survive. It was the sacrifice that I had to take.

3. What is your guilty pleasure movie?

Guilty pleasure? Do you mean “so bad it’s good” guilty pleasure or “you actually like that” guilty pleasure? In “so bad it’s good category,” I enjoyed “The Gate”, “Big Trouble in Little China”, “The Craft” and “Catwoman”. Don’t judge me. In the “you actually like that” category, I loved “13 Going on 30”, “Mean Girls”, all those girly, frou-frou movies.

4. You have complied a list of your top 100 movies. Which movies didn’t make the cut?

I didn’t put movies like “Antichrist”, “District 9”, “Frozen River” or fanboy movies like some the “Star War” sequel on the list, because I have to revisit them in order to be placed on my list. I also didn’t put “A Serious Man”, “The Big Lebowski” in there, because I am wrapping my brain around those movies. I can’t them on the list if I could say one way or another.

5. Which movie(s) do you compulsively watch over and over again?

Let me count the ways. I don’t know how many times I have watched “Pulp Fiction”, “The Color Purple”, “Adam & Steve”, “Bad Boys”, “The Goonies”, “The Sandlot” and “The Shawshank Redemption” must be in the thousands. Literally.

6. Classic(s) you’re embarrassed to admit you haven’t seen yet?

How much time you have? Name a movie before 1980 and I probably haven’t seen it. When I did my classic movie month last year, I made a dent in those classics that I haven’t seen. I have never seen “The Maltese Falcon”, “To Have and Have Not”, “Raging Bull”, “Apocalypse Now”, “8 ½”. The list goes on and on.

7. What movie posters do you have hanging on your wall?

I don’t currently have any posters hanging on my wall right now. I think it’s a waste of money. No offense to those who do.

I think everybody in the universe has been tagged for this meme. If you haven’t been tagged, considered tagged by association.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on June 1, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Sorry to hear that about your dvd collection. I also haven’t seen Maltese Falcon, but plan on fixing that by next week.

  2. Bummer about number 2. I did the same sort of thing a few years ago. I sold nearly 250 DVDs in a garage sale to buy school clothes. It pained me, but how many times was I really going to re-watch Mr. and Mrs. Smith?

    I totally agree with you on the movie posters. But if I can get them for free, I’ll take them, which is how I acquired Atonement, Little Miss Sunshine and The Departed.

    • Urgh… it pains me to sell the collection that is yours and what you like, but sometimes life throws you a curve ball.

      If it’s a free poster, why the hell not? I don’t have a place to put them.

  3. I remember seeing Bambi at the theater really young as well. It was with my friend and her mom in the ghetto. It was only years later it turned into an adult movie theater. teehee.

    Also I just watched The Craft for the first time in eons a few weeks ago. It still is so bad that it’s good. 🙂

    • That is so funny that the place that you saw your first kids movie is now the site where Pee Wee Herman frequents. Hilarious.

      I love those trashy movies. They are stupid beyond belief, but they are fun as hell to watch.

  4. Mean Girls is a modern classic and Pulp Fiction is Shakespeare for the post-modern generation; high school kids should be reciting the script and declaiming it in hallowed halls.

Leave a Reply

