SEPS Review: Gone in 60 Seconds (2000)

 

Before I start my review, I would like to preface this by saying that I missed reviewing movies. As many of you know, I was away at Navy boot camp for a while. I was discharged from it because my eyes were too fucked up to effectively do my job, which was supposed to be an air traffic controller. I was in a place called SEPS, which is out of basic training. The guys there are being transitioned out. Not training, there was A LOT of downtime. I’m glad that had movies to pass the mind numbing boredom. I was there for over a month. I’m glad to be back. I’m missed you guys. Let’s get started. Shall we? 

Let’s just say that the picking were slim in SEPS. the first movie I ever saw in SEPS was the Nicolas Cage vehicle, Gone in 60 Seconds. I have seen bits and pieces of the movie over the years. I never had the chance to watch it, because I was stuck there I checked it out. This movie was like The Fast and the Furious, but less fun. 

Apparently this movie is a remake of a 1974 movie that I haven’t heard of. I supposed that it had the same basic premise except this version was updated with fast cars and lots of hot women. Whatever. The movie centers around a retired thief, Memphis Raines (Nicolas Cage) is pulled back into the car stealing business when a British crime boss, Raymond Calitri (Christopher Eccleston). Calitri threatens to kill his younger brother, Kip (Giovanni Ribsi) who botched an earlier job. The only way that Memphis could save his brother is to steal fifty cars on a list. 

With the clock ticking down, Memphis gathers together his old crew including his mentor, Otto (Robert Duvall) and old love interest, Sway (Angelina Jolie). When the crew starts on the list, this catches the attention of LAPD Detective Roland Castlebeck (Delroy Lindo) who dealt with Raines and his tactics. Castlebeck tries to be one step ahead of Raines with his partner, Detective Drycoff (Timothy Olyphant). Raines tries to steal all the cars in a 24-hour period to try to get the deadline. 

I wish that I could pontificate more about this movie, but the movie is a shallow action film that doesn’t satisfy you. I am perfectly fine with the anti-hero. I hate the typical cookie cutter endings to a movie. I was mildly enjoying this film as brainless entertainment, but the ending bothered the hell out of me. 

Judgment: It was a cop-out. 

Rating: **1/2 

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on May 21, 2010, in 2000, Action, SEPS Reviews, Thriller and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. As you say, this for me is the very definition of ‘brainless entertainment’. I’ve seen it a number of times now and every time I find it on my TV I always sit there and think… ‘why am I watching this…?’

  2. Damn, sorry to hear about your eyes 😦

    Like you said, Gone in 60 Seconds is a less fun version of Fast and Furious and let’s just say I don’t the latter all that entertaining at this point.

    • I know. It sucks, but I suppose that the military is not right for me.

      There was a couple of action sequences with that car “Eleanor” that were pretty cool.

  3. Good to have you back and reviewing film.

  4. Fun, crazy, Nic Cage. Nothing gets better.

  5. Yeah, really sorry about your eyes ruining that for you, and about all the downtime. At least you got to see some movies!!! I had no idea there as a 70’s original as well. I probably saw this movie like 9 times as a kid. It really doesn’t do much to satisfy, but as far as being a fun actioner, it does the trick. Not sure I could ever watch it again… you know, after seeing it 9 times.

    • Well, it is what it is. I have some qualms about what happened. I was a distraction for the mind numbing boredom.

Leave a Reply

