Julie and Julia (2009)

I’m Julia Child. Bon appetit!

— Julia Child

I had no inclination of watching Julie & Julia, because I thought that it would be just another chick flick. Now, that Meryl Streep is getting lots of awards attention for her portyal of Julie Child, I had to watch the film to see it. I also heard when you watch the film, it would make you hungry. I had a meal before I watched this. I envied the characters having the chance to try those wonderful dishes.

Based on the novel of the name by Julie Powell and “My Life in France” by Julia Child with Alex Prud’homme, writer/director Nora Ephron interweaves of two women seeming to live parallel lives at two different times.

Julie Powell (Amy Adams) is struggling novelist that is working for the Lower Manhattan Development Corporation answering insurance calls after 9/11. She feels like she hasn’t finished anything in her life. Her friends are becoming more successful than she is, and it makes her feel left out in the cold. After a scathing article about her turning thirty is pressed, she wanted to accomplish something in her life. By suggestion of her husband, Eric (Chris Messina), Julie starts a blog, “The Julie/Julia Project” to cook all of the recipes in Julia Child’s cookbook, “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” in a year.

Flashing back to when Julia Child (Streep) arrives in 1949 France where her husband, Paul (Stanley Tucci) was transferred to the local embassy. While Paul is at work, Julie tries to find something to do. She has the idea to have a French cookbook in English, which didn’t exist at the time. To do that she had to enlist in cooking school, Le Cordon Bleu, but the headmistress, Madame Brassart (Joan Juliet Buck) tries to discourage her for advancing in the school. Her infectious energy makes her the star of the class.

As the movie goes on story highlight coincides in their lives, Powell has doubts that anyone is reading her blog when she receives ingredients from her fans. She is becoming more popular that people want to interview her. Child has an opportunity to author a cookbook with acquaintances, Simone Beck and Louisette Bertholle (Linda Emond, Helen Carey).

I heard about the liberties that Ephron with Powell who was having severe martial problems that lead towards her divorce. I enjoyed myself with the movie. Streep was good as Julia Child. Her portion of the movie was better than Powell’s. The sequence with Julia’s sister Dorothy McWilliams (Jane Lynch) visiting them did not have any bearing on the movie to me. I thought the ending dragged on too much that it got syrupy for my tastes.

I was struck about the blog. I want to read it. Does Julie have another one in the works?

Judgment: This movie is a slice of life. Make sure that you have eaten before watching it.

Rating: ****

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on January 22, 2010, in 2009, Academy Award Nominee, Biopic, Comedy, Drama, Romantic and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. mcarteratthemovies

    Meryl Streep’s performance is what got my butt in the movie theater seat, but other things kept it there — Amy Adams doing her best (and sometimes succeeding) to make her character empathetic, Stanley Tucci as Julia’s amazingly tolerant husband, the beauty shots of food, the movie’s vibrant colors. I enjoyed “Julie & Julia” much, much more than I expected to.

    • I guess this goes to show that I shouldn’t dismiss a movie for being “another chick flick” and see that it could be a good movie. Streep was good, but don’t you think she had gone “full Julia” like Sean Penn in “I Am Sam.” Sometimes, I thought enough already.

      Those beauty shots of the food where gorge. Aren’t the men in the film dreamy?

  2. My girlfriend made me watch this a while back…to be honest, it wasn’t all that bad.

  1. Pingback: Morgan Freeman, Jake Gyllenhaal, Tim McGraw, Julia Roberts, Meryl … | Morgan Freeman Celebrity Monitor

Leave a Reply

