Post Show Analysis: 15th Annual Critic’s Choice Awards

Okay, people. Award show season is kicking up to overdrive with the first of the season, The 15th Annual Critic’s Choice Awards. They were Friday night. I missed them because I went to dinner with my family that ran late. When I got back, they were issuing the award for Best Comedy. I wanted to be fresh watching the movie. Now that I caught of the dozen re-broadcasts of the show on VH1, I have to refer back to my predictions a month ago. How did I do? A good 80% right.

Quick note: Kirstin Chenoweth as the host. Don’t hire her again. Never again. The witty banter was atrocious. The mock catfight/make-out at the Best Actress segment. Huh?

Best Ensemble – I predicted that Nine would win with a should for Precious and Inglourious Basterds.

Winner: Inglorious Basterds

I predicted Nine before watching it or the bad buzz surrounding the film. I’m glad that the Basterds got it. It was good to the grizzly men (Christoph Waltz and Eli Roth) onstage.

Best Supporting Actress – I predicted a will win for Julianne Moore with Mo’Nique for a should.

Winner: Mo’Nique, Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire (Why couldn’t the movie be called just Precious?)

Mo was cordial and gracious. I’m glad that she thanked the director, Lee Daniels and Gabourey Sidibe, especially paying tribute to her fine husband, Sidney. That bald head is working.

Best Action Movie – I predicted that Avatar will take it home.

Winner: Avatar

This was a no brainer for a no-brainer movie. It’s a spectacle with CGI creatures, flying dragons, and human controlled mechs with giant shredded knives.

Best Younger Actor/Actress – I predicted that Saoirse Ronan would win.

Winner: Saorise Ronan, The Lovely Bones

She also nominated for Best Actress. I knew that she would get consolation prize.

Best Supporting Actor – Christoph Waltz. All the way!

Winner: Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds

He is a shoo-in.

Best ComedyThe Hangover would get it.

Winner: The Hangover

I was secretly rooting for (500) Days of Summer, because I loved that. J’adore. Immensely.

Best Song – I was behind “The Weary Kind”.

Winner: “The Weary Kind” by T-Bone Burnett and Ryan Bingham for Crazy Heart

Never heard it. Next.

Then, the show is goes into overdrive with the warp-speed montage of what won.

Best Movie for Television – I predicted Into the Storm with Grey Gardens as an alternative.

Winner: Grey Gardens

Best Foreign Language Film – I predicted The White Ribbon.

Winner: Broken Embraces

I’ll be damned. Critics were fawning over The White Ribbon. I’m surprised.

Best Score – I predicted Up.

Winner: Up

I don’t remember the score of Up. Do you?

Best Documentary Feature – I went with The Cove.

Winner: The Cove

This was before I saw the film. I only saw Anvil! and I enjoyed that film. The best film won the prize.

Best Costume Design – I couldn’t choice between Bright Star and The Young Victoria.

Winner: The Young Victoria

People love the period piece costume dramas.

Best Make-up – This was a tough choice, I said Avatar with District 9 coming behind.

Winner: District 9

I know there was make-up in District 9. Where was the make-up in Avatar?

Then, Avatar wins a shitload of awards for Best Editing, Best Visual Effects, Best Art Direction, Best Sound and Best Cinematography.

I predicted right on Viz FX, Sound, and Art Direction. Why do I picked The Lovely Bones for Cinematography?

Original Screenplay – QT was going to take it.

Winner: Quentin Tarantino, Inglourious Basterds

What can you say? People love the insane shit that Quentin Tarantino writes down. I loved that he only thanked his “smart” actors for breathing life into his words.

Best Adapted Screenplay – It was going to Up in the Air.

Winner: Jason Reitman and Shelton Turner, Up in the Air

It was nice to see Jason up there. I wish he got that tall drink of water, Sheldon to talk. When he forgot to thank his wife and made out with her, almost made me throw up.

Best Director – Before seeing Invictus, I thought Clint was get it with Kathryn Bigelow storming behind.

Winner: Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker

I thought the critics would give it to Clint for his body of work. When I saw the movie, urgh! It was nice that Kathryn got a standing ovation. She deserved it.

Best Actor – Jeff Bridges going to take it home.

Winner: Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart

I have not seen this movie. People are going Lady Gaga over it. I want to know what the fuss is all about.

Best Actress – I was pulling for either Carey Mulligan or Gabourey Sidibe.

Winner(s): Meryl Streep, Julie & Julia and Sandra Bullock, The Blind Side

This was the huge “WTF” moment of the show. Meryl Streep was tied last year with Anne Hathaway for Rachel Getting Married when she won for Doubt. This year it was her and Sandra Bullock. Say what now? I don’t get it, people. Why is everybody fawning over Bullock? The movie was okay. Nothing spectacular.

Best Picture – I predicted that Up in the Air would get it with The Hurt Locker close behind.

Winner: The Hurt Locker

I was glad that The Hurt Locker won. ‘Nuff said.

Wow. I was mostly right on my choices. Next, The Golden Globes.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on January 16, 2010, in Award Show Coverage and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

