Most Anticipated Fall Movies

I have been light on the reviews this week, because my computer decided to act damn fool. Everything is fine now. I decided to list the movies that I want to see this Oscar season.

**Quick note: I did not put “An Education” on here, because I will be seeing it tomorrow. Also I forgot to put “The Lovely Bones on my list. Maybe that should tell you something.**


10

serious_man“A Serious Man”

The Coens Bros. latest movie about a Jewish man that has a fucked up life in the 60s is not my cup of tea. I heard that this movie caters to Jewish people. It has an unknown cast. Hmm.

9

The-Last-Station-poster

“The Last Station”

I heard some serious Oscar buzz about the Helen Mirren, Christopher Plummer and James McAvoy vehicle. A movie that shreads light on a semi-unknown person like Leo Tolstoy would interest me.

8

Invictus movie poster Matt Damon“Invictus”

When I saw the trailer for Clint Eastwood’s lastest, I was intrigued. This is not a typical biopic. Morgan Freeman plays Nelson Mandela and Matt Damon plays the captain of the South African rubgy team, Francois Pienaar trying to unite the nation at the 1995 World Cup. I typically don’t like inspirational sports movies, but I am willing to give this a try.

7

sherlock_poster“Sherlock Holmes”

Guy Ritchie’s movies have been hit or miss, mostly miss. Anyone remember “Revolver”, “Rock N Rolla”? I enjoyed the multiple trailers about the reinvention of Arthur Conan Doyle’s master sleuth. I wonder how Robert Downey, Jr. interpretation will say to audiences.

6

imaginarium_of_doctor_parnassus_ver12“The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus”

It’s not because it’s Heath Ledger’s final movie role, but the visuals are breathtaking. The fantastical world that has Heath, Johnny Depp, Colin Farrell and Jude Law playing the same role is interesting to me.

5

up_in_the_air“Up in the Air”

I think that Jason Reitman’s last movie was overhyped. Even though I loved “Juno”, it was not the movie that was said. The trailers for this movie with George Clooney as a frequent flier that is trying ti re-connect with humanity looks to be a solid follow-up.

4

nineA“Nine”

I wished that Rob Marshall made the “staged musical” first instead of “Chicago.” I liked that movie, but it makes this movie seems like a copycat. I think that tale of Guido Contini and the women in his life would be interesting to see on the big screen.

3

road_movie_poster_01“The Road”

John Hillcoat’s take on Cormac McCarthy’s book has been pushed back so many times that I wondered what the reception is going to be. I know that this movie is trying to repeat the success of The Coen’s “No Country for Old Men”. Let’s see what happens.

2

single_man“A Single Man”

I heard about former fashion designer for Gucci turned film director, Tom Ford’s film got critical buzz after the Venice Film Festival when Colin Firth won Best Actor. The story is about the day in the life of a college professor that loses his lover of 16 years, and how he deals with life that comes his way.

1

precious“Precious”

Even though this movie is opening in limited release today, the movie is not opening here until next Friday. I saw the trailer on Oprah and I teared up at it. That never happens. The buzz surrounding this movie is deafening. I hope it lives up to the hype and my high expectations.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on November 6, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Agree with almost all:
    **Not sure about ‘The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus’ yet–have to read more reviews.
    **Saw the first trailer for ‘The Road’ yesterday. Dark. Very dark. Might have to talk myself into this one.
    **I’m a McAvoy fan, so I’d put ‘The Last Station’ higher on the list. Seems like I’ve been waiting forever for this one.

  2. I would say all of those movies are on my list, except for “The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus” as I have already seen that.

    Good list, I might have to do my own list.

Leave a Reply

