Happy Anniversary!

happy-first-anniversary-global-exchange-47809

I just wanted to take this opportunity to say that this is my first anniversary of this blog. It has been exactly one year today that I made my first movie review was the documentary, The Times of Harvey Milk.

Last year, I was in a transitional period in my life when I lost my apartment and I had to move back in with my mother. I had to put my pride aside in order to survive.

Being influenced by the hosts of Cinebanter, I wanted to start a movie review blog from movies that I have seen on cable or in the cinemas.

On September 28, 2008, I started my personal blog called “On the Queue” over on blogger.com. I know it’s the most uncreative title ever. It was something that came to mind.

At first, I had no idea what directions I was going to with the blog. The entries were short and to the point. I knew that I wasn’t going to be the next Roger Ebert or anything. I wanted to give my two cents about the movies that I have seen in passing.

In the beginning of the blog, I did the blog more for me. I needed an outlet to write something important. Writing is very cathartic for me. It still is.

Over time, a couple of friends of mine loved the blog. I wanted to make a small change with it. I wanted to change the title of the blog. I agonized over it for hours on end.

You wanna know how I got the name? Three words: blog name generator. I know! I know. It’s a copout. Sue me. Anyway, I searched on the internet for one. Some random names came up and one popped up, “foolish blathering”. I thought about it for a hot minute. Yes, that was perfect, but I wasn’t doing just one entry. I made it plural. Ooh!

After the name change, my reviews became more refined. I incorporated the rating system and the memorable quote or tagline on the review. I joined LAMB and the world opened up for me. I met some great people on this venture.

Then, I felt like my blog looked like everybody else’s. I wanted to have something distinctive. I included the patent pending, “last judgment”, the one sentence summary about how good or bad the movie was.

On April Fool’s Day this year, I made the switch to wordpress, because I was sick of being limited on blogger. I’m glad I did. I never looked back.

When I deleted the blogger posts, it messed up my blog posts. I wanted somebody to contribute to the blog. I found Mike Ezzo on Facebook. He said that he wasn’t a movie buff. That was fine. I’m glad that he contributed to the site. Even though he hasn’t written a post in LONG time, he is still welcome to make contributions in the future.

I wanted to take this time to thank everyone for their continued support of me and this site.

Thanks goes out to Michael and Tassoula from “Cinebanter”, Chazz Lyons from “Gone Cinema Poaching”, Alex from “Korova Theatre Presents”, Dylan from “Blog Cabins”, Jim from “Napier’s News”, Piper from “Lazy Eye Theatre”, Iain Stott from “The One-Line Review”, Heather from “Movie Mobsters”, Steve from “The Film Cynics”, the members from the Oscar Watchers group and various members of LAMB.

Thank you for a terrific year in blogging and hopefully for another year to make things bigger and better.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on September 28, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Happy blog-o-versary, Branden, and of course, thanks for the shout. You’re blog has done a lot of changing over the course of your first year, and it shows. I’m curious, though – in what way did you feel limited on Blogger? I know that, at times, I feel like the templates on WordPress are better looking, but there are so many ways that you can hack your html that I’ve never felt too limited, at least not in any way that just a platform transform would fix.

    • That’s the thing. I don’t want to hack into the templates to make it look better, not boring.

      It laid there. Blah. I wanted some pizazz.

      It sucks that I can’t put photobucket links on wordpress and I can’t post that many embed videos, but I enjoy the simplicity of posting on here.

  2. Congratulations! Running a blog for a year is like quitting smoking for 3 days, if you can get through that, you can get through anything.

    And pay no attention to Fletch – Blogger’s got nothing on the power of the ‘Press!

  3. Congratulations, man. You should be proud. At about the halfway mark myself and can’t wait for that big 1! Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

