Bambi (1942)

bambi_ver2It is Man. He is here again. There are many this time. We must go deep into the forest. Hurry! Follow me!

— Great Prince of the Forest

Hello, everyone. I am back from vacation. Ready to get back to the swing of things. I was in Florida for a week to visit Disney World with my family. Getting back on my home turf, I thought that I might get back to Walt Disney classic film that I haven’t seen in over twenty years, Bambi.

I believe that this was the first movie I ever saw in theaters when it was re-release back in 1988. This movie freaked me out with the famous scene of Bambi, his mother and Man. I cried endlessly about that. After all these years to see the film again, it hasn’t aged well.

Not to say that this is a bad movie. Far from it, but more recent offering like The Lion King has made this movie very dated.

The story is about a young deer named Bambi that is introduced to the unpredictable world with his mother by his side. As he is trying to find his way of surviving to forest life, he is befriended by Thumper and Flower.

The story is basic. The voice acting was a bit annoying at times. I still love the multiplane camera layouts. Still an enjoyable movie.

Judgment: If you want to watch a classic family movie, this is a good choice.

Rating: ****

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on July 27, 2009, in 1942, Academy Award Nominee, Animated, Drama, Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

