Brick (2005)

untitled

Maybe I’ll just sit here and bleed at you.

— Brendan Frye

I heard about Rian Johnson’s first feature film, Brick,  from multiple people saying that it was the best movie that they have ever seen. I will not name names, but I have to pose this question: What’s the big fucking deal?

I watched the opening sequence to his latest movie, The Brothers Bloom on Hulu on I loved it. I wondered, what the hell happened?

The movie stars Joseph Gordon Levitt as Brendan Fye, the “detective” in this 1940s film noir transplanted in high school in the present. He discovers his girlfriend, Emily’s (Emilie de Ravin) body. He tries to find the culprit who did it.

When I first started the movie, I had an inkling about what the movie was about; The lens flare, the “Dawson Creek” style dialogue, the Dutch angles, etc.

I had no fucking idea what was going on. You have people that are my age (late 20s) playing high schoolers. Come on! Really? It’s just pathetic.

The characters were uninteresting as was the situations that Brendan found himself in. Why was he in the same clothes throughout the movie? This movie went above and beyond normal human comprehension.

I’m not saying that the movie was awful. It was boring. It tries to hard to be great cinema. It fails on every single level.

Judgment: If you want to be mind raped by a film, see this movie.

Rating: **

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on May 20, 2009, in 2006, Crime, Drama, Mystery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Brick is short of an effective ending, and has the look, touch, and feel of a noir, but with a twist, great writing and direction, and a superbly acted cast.

  1. Pingback: clubs liverpool » : I’m not saying Giggs doesn’t deserve it…

Leave a Reply

