I Love You, Man (2009)

i_love_you_man

Why is it weird that I have girl friends?

— Peter Klaven

Saturday night, I wanted to catch up with some movies that I missed last month. The first of these is I Love You, Man. The bromantic comedy– I hate that saying by the way– that stars Paul Rudd and Jason Segel. After seeing Observe and Report with its WTF ending, I found this film quite refreshing.

Peter Klaven (Rudd) is a man friend deficient, real estate agent that is trying to sell the home of Lou Ferrigno, without much success. At the beginning of the movie, Peter proposes to his girlfriend, Zooey (Rashida Jones).

When they are beginning to plan for the wedding, they realize that Peter does not have any close male friends to be a part of the wedding. With the help of his mother, Joyce (Jane Curtin) and his gay brother, Robbie (Andy Samberg), Peter goes on a series of “man dates” to find the best man for his wedding. Hilarity ensues.

At an open house, Peter meets Sydney Fife (Segel), a manchild investment broker that show Peter how to be man. He ushers him into the world of man. Having a best friend that is a man.

Peter learns about the music of Rush, the dance of passing gas, talking about masturbating, sex and all that.

This is the gayest straight movie ever. This some gay undertones to the movie, but it tries to be so macho. It was hilarious. I enjoyed this movie.

I identified with the Paul Rudd character. I have girl friends and not that many guy friends. I sympathize with Peter’s plight.

Judgment: I suggest check this movie out. There is something different for people to see.

Rating: ****

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on April 27, 2009, in 2009, Comedy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yeah, I agree Branden, definitely one to check out. Less ambitious than its near-masterpiece cousin “Observe And Report”, but still extremely funny. The two leads make everything worth-while. 3/4

    • I think that this movie is more ambitious than “Observe and Report”. That movie was trying to make a “funny Taxi Driver”. Why?

      Having a movie about the interpersonal relationship between two men– that is not overtly gay– is something amazing to behold.

Leave a Reply

