Top Ten Favorite Characters of All Time

Some of my blogger counterparts were participating in naming their top ten favorite characters of all time. I tagged myself by looking at Piper from Lazy Eye Theatre’s list.

Here is my list starting from number ten.

10

jack-black-high-fidelityBarry played by Jack Black in

“High Fidelity”

Oh, that’s not obvious enough, Rob. How about the Beatles? Or fucking… fucking Beethoven? Side one, track one of the Fifth Symphony… How can someone with no interest in music own a record store?

Everyone has a “Barry” in their lives. That one friend that seems to know everything, and dismisses anyone that might have subpar taste in music. Jack stole every scene that he was in. It made watching this movie more of a pleasure.

9

juleswinnfieldJules Winnfield played by Samuel L. Jackson in

“Pulp Fiction”

Normally, both your asses would be dead as fucking fried chicken, but you happen to pull this shit while I’m in a transitional period. So I don’t wanna kill you. But I can’t give you this case. It don’t belong to me. Besides, I’ve already been through too much shit this morning over this case to hand it over to your dumb ass.

How can you not put Jules Winnfield on your list? Every line that Jackson delivers in gold even something as mundane as television pilots were interesting. He has a duality of being a contract killer, but he could get philosophical on you.

8

khudson_10Penny Lane played by Kate Hudson in

“Almost Famous”

We are not groupies. Groupies sleep with rock stars because they want to be near someone famous. We are here because of the music, we inspire the music. We are Band Aids.

Watching Kate Hudson play Penny Lane, the ultimate Band Aid was a joy. She changed the name of “groupie” forever. There is a look of her face that speaks volumes. Wonderful.

7

airplane_xl_01-film-aDr. Ramack played by Leslie Nielsen in

“Airplane!”

I am serious and don’t call me “Shirley.”

Nielsen playing the straight guy in “Airplane!” was a joy to watch. The one-liners kept coming. I was lapping it up. Fabulous comedic timing.

6

beatrix_2The Bride played by Uma Thurman in the

“Kill Bill” series

Bitch, you can stop right there. Just because I have no wish to murder you before the eyes of your daughter, does not mean parading her around in front of me is going to inspire sympathy. You and I have unfinished business. And not a goddamn fuckin’ thing you’ve done in the subsequent four years, including getting knocked up, is going to change that.

I love the mystery within the Kill Bill series, trying to figure out who “The Bride” was. She wanted to take revenge on the people that ruined her life. I rooted for a killer. Her sword fight was the Crazy 88. Genius.

5

dreamgirls1Effie White played by Jennifer Hudson in

“Dreamgirls”

Well, what am I supposed to do? Deena’s beautiful and she’s always been beautiful… but I’ve got the voice, Curtis! I’ve got the voice! You can’t put me in back; you just can’t!

Effie White has always been my favorite when Jennifer Holliday famously played her in the original Broadway production. When Hudson was chosen to be Effie White in the movie version, I was on board. I loved the songs that Effie sang. Wow!

4

andyAndy Dufrense played by Tim Robbins in

“The Shawshank Redemption”

She was beautiful. God, I loved her. I just didn’t know how to show it, that’s all. I killed her, Red. I didn’t pull the trigger, but I drove her away. And that’s why she died, because of me.

It was so hard to choose between Andy or Red. I thought that Andy was so understated and nuanced that I wanted to put him on the list. He is sly and devious, but he is trying to prove his innocence.

3

ennisdmEnnis del Mar played by Heath Ledger in

“Brokeback Mountain”

Why don’t you just let me be? It’s because of you, Jack, that I’m like this! I’m nothin’… I’m nowhere… Get the fuck off me! I can’t stand being like this no more, Jack.

Seeing this performance was transcendent. I felt the anguish that Ennis has to keep up his “straight life”, but he is still in love with Jack. It was heartbreaking to watch.

2

antonAnton Chigurh played by Javier Bardem in

“No Country for Old Men”

Will you hold still, please?

I have never been so freaked out in all of my life whenever Anton Chigurh came onscreen. You never know what he was going to do. That was the most frightening thing about the movie. I don’t want to meet him in dark alleyway or in a hotel room.

1

celie-purple

Celie played by Whoopi Goldberg in

“The Color Purple”

Till you do right by me, everything you even think about gonna fail.

How could you not deny Celie? A woman that had lead a life full of abandonment, abuse, rape, forbidden love and ultimately, happiness. Such a rich character brought onscreen. It is a privilege to watch.

Those are my top ten. Whoever is reading this. You are tagged to share your personal top ten on your own blog.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on April 24, 2009, in Meme and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This is a really great top ten list, did not seem like an amateur put it together. Glad to see Tim Robbins get a nod, Shawshank is my favorite movie of all time, so well done. You can post this to our site http://www.toptentopten.com/ and then link back to your site. We are looking for top ten lists and our users can track back to your site. The coolest feature is you can let other people vote on the rankings of your list.

  2. Nice list, I enjoyed writing my post on this topic.

    • I know that my picks are more contemporary, but it was only ten. If it was twenty, I would put Hannibal Lecter, Margo Channing, Travis Bickle on the list.

  3. Thanks for posting your list, it looks great. If you have any more feel free to post, hopefully some users will find enjoyment in your blog.

    • I got the idea from a couple of blog friends of mine. Tagging people to list their fav characters. I thought that I might join in the discussion.

Leave a Reply

