Step Brothers (2008)

Sticks and stones may break my bones, but I will kick you repeatedly in the balls!

— Brennan Huff

When I first saw the trailer for Step Brothers, I thought that it was the most unfunny thing ever. I thought that the movie would be godawful, but I was surprised that I liked it so much. I laughed out loud in the first five minutes of the film. I was set.

I’m not saying that this is the best comedy of the year. No. It was enjoyable.

It revolves around this blended family when Robert (Richard Jenkins) and Nancy (Mary Steenburgen) meets each other at a conference and quickly married. They have their slacker adult sons in the house.

There is Dale (John C. Reilly), a lazy man that is very territorial about his drum set and Brennan (Will Ferrell) that has a chip on his shoulder. At first, they hate each other and want to kill each other, but eventually they grown to like each other.

The family situation seems implausible, but you have to shut off your brain for this film.

There are some things that I did not like. I did not the sleepwalking scenes. It seemed so forced and convenient that both of sons have the same condition. When the parents wanted them to get jobs, the interview montage was ill-conceived. Dead in the water. The crying scene at the dinner table near the end of the movie was not good. The heart-to-heart scene with Robert, Brennan, and Dale? Really?

There is a character that I didn’t like at all. It was the younger brother of Brennan, Derek (Adam Scott). He dragged the movie down. It’s not because he played a complete douche bag, but his jokes were so juvenile. I hated every scene that he’s in, except for the scene that he got punched in the face. When you are not funny at all, you should be punched in the face.

Judgment: There are some genuine laughs in the movie. Kathryn Hahn who plays Derek’s wife, Alice steals every scene.

Rating: ***1/2

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on March 3, 2009, in 2008, Comedy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

