Last Tango in Paris (1973)

Anyway, to make a long, dull story even duller, I come from a time when a guy like me used to come into a joint like this and pick up a young chick like you and… call her a “bimbo.”

— Paul


Last Tango In Paris
was showing on Hulu now. I wanted to see what the fuss with all about the explicitness and the “back door” scene everyone was talking about.

Let’s be honest here. I don’t like the movie. It’s not because the subject or anything. It was just blah. This movie was rated “NC-17” back in 1972. This movie is barely on “R” now.

The story is about an American widower, Paul (Marlon Brando) that is coping from the suicide of his wife. He has an affair with a young Parisian woman, Jeanne (Maria Schneider).

I was bored with the film. This film came from Bernardo Bertolucci. It was nominated for two Oscars in 1973. I was surprised how the movie does not hold up.

My judgment: Don’t expect this movie to titillate you with its “explicitness.”

My rating: **1/2

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on February 11, 2009, in 1973, Academy Award Nominee, Drama, Foreign Language, Romantic, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey Branden

    Nice stint on Cinebanter.
    Keep it up man!

    Cheers!
    Chazz

  2. I know. It’s like I’m a “podcast shout-out” whore.

    It’s not intentional, except for the response to “Milk”.

  3. Haha true dat.

Leave a Reply

