Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist (2008)

Also that mixed CD… uh, that I left on your doorstep was the last one that I will be making for you. More or less…

— Nick

Being fully recovered now from the horrendous flu bug I had, I am back to spewing my venom over this movie, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Trying to be like Juno, but infinitely not.

Recently released on DVD, the movie was on a couple of people’s top ten lists on 2008 and I have to wonder why?

The story centers around a clueless, lovesick high school boy, Nick (Michael Cera) recovering over the break up of his ice queen of a girlfriend, Tris (Alexis Dziena). Six months after the fact. He makes mixed CDs for her.

Nick is in a gay band called The Jerk Offs. Fitting title. They go to to a gig in the city. Nick meets Norah (Kat Dennings) and they have their budding romance. Blah.

Norah’s sloppy drunk of a friend, Caroline (Ari Graynor) was the best thing about the movie. I didn’t care for the toilet scene with the gum. Why on God’s green earth would somebody do that?

I don’t want to write anymore about this movie. What’s the point?

The gay subplots were so outrageous– borderline offensive to me.

Final thought. Is it me or is Michael Cera is really annoying? Always playing the “straight man” that it a little quirky that the lead girl would find adorable. Yawn! He is playing that same damn person in every single movie. Think about it.

My judgment: For a movie about an “infinite playlist”, not that much good music in this film.

My rating: **

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on February 6, 2009, in 2008, Comedy, Musical, Romantic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

