Good Dick (2008)

If I wanted to have sex I’d go out and find someone who was actually sexy.
–Woman

Catchy title, huh? I first saw the title for Good Dick and I was intrigued about the movie. Looking at the comments on IMDB, people were saying that the movie was “surprisingly moving”. I decided to take a chance and I rolled snake eyes. This movie was nominated for the Grand Jury Prize at last year’s Sundance. Why?

The movie is an unconventional love story with an unnamed video store clerk (Jason Ritter) at a place called Cinefile, who becomes obsessed with a damaged woman, played by writer/director Marianna Palke, that comes by the store to rent erotica every night.

The Man lives in his car outside of the Woman’s apartment building. He offers her some better movies for her to pleasure herself with.

He is like a cold sore. He comes in and out of her life. She wants him to go away. He is insistent in his pursuit of a “relationship” with her.

I was not moved by this film. The only part that I thought was compelling was an exchange between the Man and his co-worker. That’s it.

My judgment: It was a nice movie. Don’t there was nothing of substance here.

My rating: **

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on January 29, 2009, in 2008, Comedy, Drama, Romantic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

