Waltz with Bashir (2008)


After winning with the Golden Globe, and being nominated for an Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film, Waltz with Bashir is a hybrid of gripping documentary, fabulous animation, and provocative war drama.

The film recounts the lost memories of director Ari Folman from his time in the Israeli army during the war between the Israelis and Palestinians in 1983.

It starts with Ari confiding to his friend, Boaz about the recurring nightmare that he had been having. He dreams that he is being chased by twenty-six dogs. The realize that the dogs had to tie in with his time in army over twenty years previous.

He meets old army buddies, survivors and a news reporter along the way to help piece together he lost memories of that time.

Slowly, but surely, the memories keep flooding in about the massacre at Sabra and Shantila and the assassination of Bashir Gemayal, including his role in the matter.

The last act of this film was so chilling and heart-stopping that I couldn’t get out of my seat when the credits rolled. This film blew me away.

This film came highly recommended on Metacritic with a score of 90. Impressive.

My judgment: This is a must see. Seek it out at your local indie theater.

My rating: ****1/2

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on January 24, 2009, in 2008, Academy Award Nominee, Animated, Documentary, Foreign Language and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great review Branden! I cant wait 4 Waltz to release near me.

  2. No problem. It was a fabulous movie.

    It’s going into my top ten. I have to lose of my precious films currently in my top ten.

Leave a Reply

