Weird Science (1985)


This is one of John Hughes’ films that absolutely loved when I was a kid, besides “Breakfast Club”, “Pretty in Pink”, “Sixteen Candles”, and “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”. I always watched this movie when it was showing on the WB a couple of years ago.

Encore was doing their 80s weekend. I saw that Weird Science was coming on and I was excited. It’s been a while since I saw this movie unedited, uncensored. I still love this movie. I idenify with the dorky guy trying to fit in the crowd.

I loved this film so much that I even saw the TV show that was playing a couple of years ago.

Watching this again I was quite annoyed with the voice of Wyatt, played by Ilan Mitchell-Smith. It was screechy and whiny.

Gary (Anthony Michael Hall) and Lisa (Kelly LeBrock) were great. I quoted Lisa’s lines. I know that I’m a total dork. Can you blame me?

This was probably the first time that I could remember that Bill Paxton did not have his signature monotone delivery to his dialogue. It was quite refreshing.

Robert Downey, Jr. makes an appearance here.

I realize that the plot is absurd, but it’s stupidly fun. Classic John Hughes.

My ratings: *** stars.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on December 28, 2008, in 1985, Comedy, Romantic, Sci Fi and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

