Milk (2008)


This past weekend, I went to an indie theater here in Houston to watch Milk. I went to the first showing of the movie. I arrived early to the theater and it wasn’t even open when I got there. There was a line little around the building, which was reminiscent of when Brokeback Mountain premiered at the same theater.

There were a mix of people standing in line with me. There were my people: the gays. The queens came out in full force. There were also the older people and married couples thrown right in. It was wonderful.

I went into the theater and sat at the back near the projector. I wanted to take the whole experience in. I echoed with the sentiments that the couple sitting on my left were as well. The movie starts and I almost burst into tears. I wanted to see this movie for a long time and it has finally happened.

I’m sure that everyone knows about Harvey Milk and his contribution to the gay rights movement. I won’t bore you with the minute details of the movie.

Sean Penn is a genius as usual. I believe he could be nominated for an Oscar, but I don’t think he’s going to win. I didn’t really see Harvey Milk onscreen. I saw Sean Penn imitating Harvey Milk onscreen. James Franco is delicious as always. His portrayal of Milk’s lover, Scott Smith was heartbreaking.

Watching the movie. It made angry about what is happening today with the passage of Prop 8 and the fallout from it.

It also made me hate Anita Bryant even more.

The one thing that I wish that Dustin Lance Black would have done was punching up the Dan White character. He was barely a blip on the screen.

At the end of the movie, when the candlelight vigil faded out onscreen, the entire theater clapped. It deserved it.

Gus Van Sant has delivered another solid movie to go with his impressive resume. See this film. It’s in limited released now and will open wide around Christmas time.

My rating: **** stars.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on December 8, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

