One Hour Photo (2002)

I have seen snippets of One Hour Photo when it was on heavy rotation on Sundance and IFC, a couple of years ago. I was so creeped out by Robin Williams’ character, Sy, that I avoided it. People were recommending it so I gave it another chance. I was still creeped out, but that’s a good thing.

The movie is about Sy, the photo guy, as he obsessed with this seemingly perfect family, the Yorkins. They are not perfect. You think that Sy is just looking for human interaction, but he thinks that he is a part of the family. He himself proclaims himself as “Uncle Sy”.

He seems to have a good rapport with Nina (Connie Nielsen) and especially Jake (Dylan Smith), but when Will (Michael Vartan) rebuffs him. He snaps. I won’t give away what happens in the last half hour, but you kind of agree with Sy’s reason of doing what he is doing.

See this film. I was also interested to see Michael Vartan naked. Well worth it.

My rating: **** stars.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on December 3, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

