Quincerñera (2006)


I heard about this movie a couple of years ago when it received some acclaim from the Sundance Film Festival and the Independent Spirit Awards. I thought I might check it out. I like it.

This movie is about Magdalena (Emily Rios) who a couple of months shy to the celebrated rite of passage for a young girl to become a young woman. I have never seen one and I thought that it was reminiscent of a wedding with some of the customs.

Just before she have hers, she founds out that she is pregnant. She swears to her parents that she is still a virgin and did not have sex with her friend, Herman (J.R. Cruz). Her conservative father does not believe her. Magdalena leaves home to live with her great-great uncle, Tomas (Chalo Gonzalez) and her gay cousin, Carlos (Jesse Garcia).

See this movie to look inside a side the Latin hertiage that many of us would never see.

I do have something to get off my chest. It’s more of a pet peeve when it comes to movies. I absolutely hate it when one person talks in one language and the other person responds in a different language. That drives me up the wall.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on November 23, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

