Pineapple Express (2008)

I recently caught “Pineapple Express”. I have to preface this by saying I hate stoner comedies. They are not funny to me. I watched “Half-Baked” and “Bongwater” and I don’t find those kinds of movies funny.

Like some Apatow movies that he directs or produces—only produced this, the characters would get high. Those times I think it’s funny like “40 Year Old Virgin” or “Knocked Up.” It lost me here.

“Pineapple Express” is about stoner process server, Dale Denton. Dale witnesses a drug deal gone wrong when Gary Cole and Rosie Perez characters kill a guy. A domino effect happens. Hilarity ensues. I thought that I was in a shoot ‘em up movie for awhile. What’s up with that?
.
James Franco plays the pot dealer, Saul. He was good in this movie. Better than Seth Rogen.

The beginning of the movie needed to be cut out. I know that Seth Rogen co-wrote this film. I didn’t find it funny at all.

“Pineapple Express” comes from the brand of powerful ganja from Hawaii. I would rather watch “Knocked Up” again then this movie.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on October 28, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

