Infamous (2006)

“Infamous” was on and I had to catch it. This was in competition with the Bennett Miller’s picture of Truman Capote. I have to say that this movie was more entertaining than “Capote”.

I saw “Capote” when it got all the Oscar buzz that year. I have to say that I was under whelmed with it. I believe the only bright spot of that movie was Clifton Collins, Jr. as Perry Smith. He was great. He was overshadowed by PSH’s mumbling rendition of Capote and Catherine Keener’s Nelle Harper Lee. It was overrated. That’s the power of Oscar buzz for a bad movie.

“Infamous” is a fun romp of the people in Truman’s life. Harper Lee, Jack Dunphy, his boyfriend, and his socialite friends are “interviewed” about the time when he was writing “In Cold Blood.” I tried to read the book, but I think that exact detail about the murders was too much for me to engage me.

They make it seem that Perry Smith, played by Daniel Craig and Truman Capote (Toby Jones) had a relationship of some kind. This culminated with a passionate kiss. I don’t know if this happened, but I was intrigued that the filmmakers went that way.

I think this film was under looked since “Capote” came out the year before. Such a shame. As I said, I think that Daniel Craig playing Perry Smith was the greatest thing in this film.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on October 18, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

