The Madness of King George (1994)

This film was released in 1994. I never heard of the film, until now. Being a Oscar aficionado, I heard that Helen Mirren was nominated and so was Nigel Hawthorne. I wanted to see if it was worthy of the praised it received.

“The Madness of King George” was based a play by Alan Bennett. It recounts the foibles of the reign of King George III of England.

At first, I was not impressed with it. I thought it tried too much to be a comedy. It started at a manic pace in the beginning of the film. I think that the movie hit its stride when the madness sets with the King.

Nobody knows what the cause of his illness was. I did my homework. I did my “Tassoula” and I found out that the King suffered a metabolic ailment called porphyria, which caused his strange behavior. It’s so sad that his diet caused him to go mad. The downfall of a King.

Rupert Everett plays the Prince of Wales, the eldest son that wanted to oust his incompetent father from the throne with the help of the people at court and Parliament.

Ian Holm plays the “doctor” that is trying to cure him of his illness.

See this movie for Nigel Hawthorne portrayal of the King.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on October 7, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

