No Country for Old Men (2007)

“No Country for Old Men” won Best Picture last year. I know that people are thinking that this is the Coen’s masterpiece, but I was not.

There is a lot of tension in this movie. No music. A very quiet film. It’s hard to watch. Not that it was bad, but it’s something that I try to avoid. There are people like this in the world. It scares me that there are people like that.

I am a squeamish person. Whenever Anton Chigurh came onscreen, I had to cover my eyes. The violence is so sporadic in this film, but it leaves you with a sense of dread, anxiety and fear.

It reminded me of “A History of Violence”. At the beginning of that movie, it was dead quiet. Sorry for the pun, then a flurry of violence endures and back to silent again.

I have to say that this is not my type of movie to watch. I am glad I didn’t watch it at the movie theater. I would have run out of the theater.

If you have a strong stomach and you can FORGIVE the ending, then go see this movie.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on September 29, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

