Rear Window (1954)


I really hate overrated films that get a whole lots of attention that they don’t deserve it. After seeing Burn After Reading, I wanted to see a GOOD movie. I went back to 1954 for a great movie that I haven’t seen, but I know the premise.

There was a big fuss over Disturbia ripping off the premise of Rear Window. I have to say that I think that Shia LaBeouf vehicle did borrow some elements from Alfred Hitchcock classic film. It not a complete ripoff.

This film was #16 on the top 250 on imdb. I love this movie. It was nominated for 4 Oscars. I think that Alfred Hitchcock was vastly overlooked as a director/filmmaker.

Grace Kelly epitomized her name. The first of her in the movie was film magic. She was luminous as Lisa Carol Fremont. I was gripped with her possible imminent danger. Was she in peril by the Mr. Thorwald?

My favorite character is the film was Stella, played by Thelma Ritter. She was very frank and blunt with her dialogue. I enjoyed every time that she was onscreen.

The movie was very cheeky. There was a glimpse of a woman topless for an instant. She was facing away from the camera, of course, but was on celluloid. There was almost a suicide in it. I just wanted to point that out.

I have one gripe about this movie, Jimmy Stewart’s voice. I don’t know what it is. It sounded like he came back from the dentist.

My rating: ****1/2 stars.

About Branden

Branden: I am just your average movie nut that reviews films. Gives his take on pop culture and Hollywood happenings. Dreams to have his own thriving website and make a living doing what he is passionate about.

Posted on December 14, 2008, in 1954, Academy Award Nominee, Mystery, Thriller, Top 250 of All Time in IMDB and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

